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Refund state portion of sales tax to nonresidents  
 

Description This proposal would change the current nonresident sales tax exemption to a 
refund program for the state portion (6.5%) of the sales tax only. This would 
require qualified nonresidents (both businesses and individuals) to apply for a 
refund of state sales tax (not local sales tax) from the Department of Revenue 
instead of receiving the exemption at the point of sale.   
 
The sales tax exemption at the point of sale would cease. In addition: 
• Applications for state sales tax refunds would be made electronically once a 

year for purchases made in the preceding calendar year; 
• Applications would be accepted only for refunds of $25 or more; and 
• Sales receipts, addresses of the places of purchase and other documentation 

as required by the Department of Revenue would need to be submitted. 

 
Current Law Under RCW 82.08.0273, bona fide residents of a state, U.S. possession or 

territory, or province of Canada that does not impose a sales tax or similar 
consumer tax of 3 percent or more, may purchase tangible personal property 
for use outside this state without paying Washington’s sales tax.  
 
The seller is not required to make a tax-free sale to a nonresident, but if the 
seller does: 
• The purchaser must provide proof of exemption to the seller and  
• The seller must retain a record of the proof. 

 
Original 
Purpose and 
Current 
Analysis 

To enable Washington sellers, especially along the Oregon border, to compete 
with merchants in other states that either: (1) do not levy a retail sales tax or 
(2) levy a sales tax with a low rate. 

 
Citizen 
Commission 
Recommendation 

The Citizen Commission recommended the Legislature review and clarify  
this preference because there is no explicitly stated public policy objective. 

 
Revenue 
Impact 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

General Fund Impacts ($ millions) 

# of 
Impacted 
Taxpayers 

FY 
2016 

FY 
2017 

2015-17 
Biennium 

FY 
2018 FY 2019 2017-19 

Biennium 

132,000 
 

$23.9  $23.9  $27.2  $28.2  $55.4  
 
• Estimates assume a July 1, 2016, effective date, representing 11 months of 

collections for FY 2017. 
• Estimates reflect the November 2015 Economic and Revenue Forecast Council 

revenue forecast. 
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