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MEMORANDUM
TO: SGC Ad Hoc Committee for Assauli of a Child
FROM: Shannon Hinchcliffe, SGC Policy Counsel

RE: Research on State Statutes Comparable to Washington’s Assault of a Child in the
First Degree.

Some of the following state statutes were identified by the National Conference of State
Legislatures in response to the following question posed: How many other states have

statutes comparable to Washington’s crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree and
is the word “torture” used or defined in those statutes? The following is a breakdown of

those statutes with some commentary regarding their approach to criminalizing the
behavior.

Some states choose the terms “abuse” and/or “neglect” as elements of the crime and then
define them. In Nevada’s statutes, they choose to separate the crimes of Child Abuse and

Assault First Degree. However, Assault First Degree does have an alternative element
where the child is under six years of age.

Nevada

NRS 200.508 Abuse, neglect or endangerment of child: Penalties; definitions.
1. A person who willfully causes a child who is less than 18 years of age to suffer
unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering as a result of abuse or neglect or to be

placed in a situation where the child may suffer physical pain or mental suffering as the
result of abuse or neglect;

(a) If substantial bodily or mental harm results to the child:

(1) If the child is less than 14 years of age and the harm is the result of sexual
abuse or exploitation, is gullty of a category A felony and shall be punished by
imprisonment in the state pnson for life with the possibility of parole, with eligibility for
parole beginning when a minimum of 15 years has been served; or '

(2) In all other such cases to which subparagraph (1) does not apply, is gu11ty ofa
category B felony and shall be punished by 1mprlsonment in the state prison for a
minimum term of not less than 2 years and a maximum term of not more than 20 years..
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(a) “Abuse or neglect” means physical or mental injury of a nonaccidental nature, sexual
abuse, sexual exploitation, negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child under the age of
18 years, as set forth in paragraph (d) and NRS 432B.070, 432B.100, 432B.110,
432B.140 and 432B.150, under circumstances which indicate that the child’s health or
welfare is harmed or threatened with harm.

Definitions include;

- (d) “Physical injury” means:
(1) Permanent or temporary disfigurement; or
(2) Impairment of any bodily function or organ of the body.

(e) “Substantial mental harm” means an injury to the intellectual or psychological
capacity or the emotional condition of a child as evidenced by an observable and
substantial impairment of the ability of the child to function within his normal
range of performance or behavior.

163.185 Assault in the first degree. (1) A person commits the crime of assault in the first
degree if the person: (b} Intentionally or knowingly causes serious physical injury to a
child under six years of age.

Maryland, also uses the term “child abuse” which can result in either death or seveére
physical injury to qualify for the specific penalty.

Maryland '

MRS §3-601 First-degree child abuse (1) A parent or other person who has permanent or
temporary care or custody or responsibility for the supervision of a minor may not cause
abuse to the minor that: (i) results in the death of the minor; or (ii} causes severe
physical infury to the minor. Except as provided in subsection (c¢) of this section, a
person who violates paragraph (1) of this subsection is guilty of the felony of child abuse
in the first degree and on conviction is subject to: (i) imprisonment not exceeding 23
years; or (ii) if the violation results in the death of the victim, imprisonment not
exceeding 30 years. -

{c) Repeated offense — A person who violates this section after being convicted of a
previous violation of this section is guilty of a felony and on conviction is subject to: (1)
imprisonment not exceeding 25 years; or (2) if the violation results in the death of the
victim, imprisonment not exceeding 30 years.

Kansas also splits their punishment of children between Abuse of a Child and Criminal
Abuse in the first degree. However, in both statutes, they use the term “torture,” along
with other more descriptive elements such as cruelly beating, or shaking which results in
great bodily harm. No definition of “torture” was found.
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Kansas

21-3609. Abuse of a child
‘Abuse of a child is intentionally torturing, cruelly beating, shaking which results in great

bodily harm or inflicting cruel and inhuman corporal punishment upon any child under
the age of 18 years.

Abuse of a child is a severity level 5, person felony.

KRS § 508.100 - Criminal abuse in the first degree

(1) A person is guilty of criminal abuse in the first degree when he intentionally abuses
another person or permits another person of whom he has actual custody to be abused and
thereby:; '

(a) Causes serious physical injury; or
(b) Places him in a situation that may cause him serious physical injury; or
(c) Causes torture, cruel confinement or cruel punishment;

to a person twelve (12) years of age or less, or who is physically helpless or mentally
helpless. '

(2) Criminal abuse in the first degree is a Class C felony.

Oregon

Oregon uses the word “torture” throughout several statutes including Manslaughter First
Degree, Manslaughter Sécond Degree, and Aggravated Murder. The word was not found
in their assault statutes however, it is defined in the definitions section.

“Torture” means to intentionally inflict intense physical
pain upon an unwilling victim as a separate objective
apart from any other purpose. '

Alabama has a crime against the torture and willful abuse of children but does not define
“torture.” It is otherwise not addressed in the assault statutes. Connecticut has a more
general crime of cruelty to persons which includes torture but also does not define it

Alabama

Ala.Code 1975 § 26-15-3 - Torture, willful abuse, etc., of child under 18 years of age by
responsible person,

A responsible person, as defined in Section 26-15-2, who shall torture, willfully abuse,
cruelly beat or otherwise willfully maltreat any child under the age of 18 years shall, on
conviction, be guilty of a Class C felony.

Connecticut
C.G.5.A. § 53-20 - Cruelty to persons
(2) (1} Any person who intentionally tortures, torments or cruelly or unlawfully punishes
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another person or intentionally deprives another person of necessary food, clothing,
shelter or proper physical care shall be fined not more than five thousand dollars or
imprisoned not more than five years or both.

(2) Any person who, with criminal negligence, deprives another person of necessary
food, clothing, shelter or proper physical care shall be fined not more than five hundred
dollars or imprisoned not more than one year or both.

(b) (1) Any person who, having the control and custody of any child under the age of
nineteen years, in any capacity whatsoever, intentionally maltreats, tortures, overworks
or cruelly or unlawfully punishes such child or intentionally deprives such child of
necessary food, clothing or shelter shall be fined not more than five thousand dollars or
imprisoned not more than five years or both.

(2) Any person who, having the control and custody of any child under the age of
nineteen years, in any capacity whatsoever, with criminal negligence, deprives such child
of necessary food, clothing or shelter shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars or
imprisoned not more than one year or both.

Case law could have some interpretation of the word “torture” or law about how these
terms were applied however, that research has not been conducted at this time,
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DANIEL T. SATTERBERG Y Office of the Prosecuting Attorney

PROSECUTING ATTORNEY . W400 King County Courthouse
516 Third Avenue
. Seattle, Washington 38104
King County (206) 296-9067
FAX (206) 296-9013
16 September 2009
MEMORANDUM
TO: Sentencing Guidelines Commission
FROM: Dan Satterberg

SUBJECT:  Commission Review of the crime of Assault of a Child in The First Degree

Under the Eryk Woodruff Public Safety Act of 2009 (HB 2279}, the Washington State
Legislature and Governor has tasked the Washington State Sentencing Guidelines Commission -
with conducting a comprehensive review of the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree
and the sentencing laws related to it. The Eryk Woodruff Act was born out of the tragic beating
of 15 month old Eryk Woodruff by a family friend left to babysit the toddler in Snohomish
County. The man responsible for the beating received a ten year prison sentence, while Eryk,
now 3 years old, faces a life time of permanent brain injury. The Legislature and Governor
responded by passing Eryk's Law.

The legislation, sponsored by State Representatives Mike Hope and Chris Hurst, asks the

Sentencing Guidelines Commission to review the following aspects of the crime of Assault of a
Child in the First Degree:

(1) The elements of the crime,

(2) Sentencing for the crime under the Sentencing Reform Act grid,

(3) All provisions providing for exceptional sentences both above and below the SRA
standard sentencing ranges,

(4) Judicial discretion in sentencing,

{5) Earned early release allowed under the statute,

(6) Community custody requirements allowed related to this crime

In examining these aspects the Legislature asked the Commission to consider the violence of the
offense, the age of the victim, the criminal history of the offender, the mental health of the
offender, the likelihood of re-offense, the use of advisory sentencing guidelines, the modification
of a mandatory minimum term of confinement for the charge and the fiscal impact of any
proposed recommendations.

The following is a set of potential reforms that could be enacted in order to strengthen the

punishment and conditions imposed upon a person convicted under the Assault of a Child in the
First Degree statute.
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Potential Reform #1:

Amend the statute to change the mens rea required for committing the crime of Assault
of a Child in the First Degree from a recklessness standard to a criminal negligence

standard when an offender is accused of intentionally assaulting a child that results in
"great bodily harm."

Under RCW 9A.36.120 a person can commit the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree
in three different ways:

1) by committing the crime of Assault in the First Degree against a child under the age of
13, which requires a person to assault the child with the intent to inflict great bodily
harm and in fact inflicts great bodily harm;

2) by intentionally assaulting a child and recklessly inflicting great bodily harm;

3) by intentionally assaulting a child and causing bodily harm after the person has
engaged in a pattern or practice either of;

a) assaulting a child which has resulted in bodily harm that is greater transient
physical pain or minor temporary marks or

b) causing the child physical pain or agony that is equivalent to that produced by
torture;

"Great bodily harm" is deﬁﬁed as;

bodily injury which creates a probability of death, or which causes significant serious

permanent disfigurement, or which causes significant permanent loss or impairment of
the function of any bodily part or organ.

Next to death, "great bodily harm" is the most significant physical injury defined in Washington
State criminal law.

The second means of committing the crime of AOC 1, intentional assault resulting in the reckless
infliction of "great bodily harm," is most often charged and prosecuted in instances where a
defendant is accused of inflicting extreme disciplinary force upon a child that is so forceful that it
results in severe and permanent physical injuries to the child. The injury most often manifests
itself in the child' brain or still developing limbs, causing permanent brain damage and/or
permanently impaired arms or legs. The most common defense put forward by defendants is that
they were not "reckless” in their actions because they simply did not know of the risk of the

specific "great bodily harm" that they caused, so therefore they could not have recklessly caused
the injury.

As currently written, the statute requires a person to "recklessly inflict" great bodily harm. To
meet this standard prosecutors have to prove that the defendant knew of the risk of the specific
injury they caused (most often subdural hemorrhaging in the brain, or damage to a child's still
developing skeletal structure) and disregarded that risk. When combined with the requirement
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that the prosecutor prove the assault itself was intentional, jurors are often left confused over
what the defendant needed to intend vs. what he needed to know of and disregard. This
confusion occurs all while the child under 13 is left with permanent, debilitating physical injuries
and disabilities directly caused at the hands of the defendant.

The Commission and Legislature can fix this confusion by proposing an amendment to this
particular prong of Assault of a Child in the First Degree to change the mens rea required for the
infliction of "great bodily harm” from a reckless standard to a "criminal negligence" standard.

The required elements that the State must prove would now read, "intentionally assaults a child
and negligently inflicts great bodily harm."

A person acts with criminal negligence when;

he fails to be aware of substantial risk that a wrongful act may occur and his failure to be
aware of such substantial rich constitutes a gross deviation from the standard of care that
a reasonable person would exercise in the same situation.

By making this change, the Legislature would remove the requirement that a defendant know of
the specific harm he may inflict by assaulting the child and causing "great bodily harm," the
highest level of harm in criminal law short of causing death.

Instead, a criminal negligence standard would impose a "standard of care" requirement on
defendants who assault a child causing such severe injury. Put another way, any defendant
charged with this particular prong of AOC 1, will face the "reasonable person" standard in their
treatment of a child under the age of 13. If the defendant is accused of shaking or hitting a child
so severely that "great bodily harm" results, then the jury will be asked to determine whether or
not the defendant deviated from a standard that a reasonable person would use in caring for or
interacting with a child. Severe shaking of an infant, using a weapon, or hand or foot to hit or
strike a child, which then results in "great bodily harm," would then fall under this proposed
negligence standard analysis, making it easier for a jury to determine whether the defendant
deviated from a reasonable care standard.

Potential Reform #2:

The Commission could also clarify the third alternative means of committing the crime of
Assault of a Child in the First Degree. That prong now reads:

3) by intentionally assaulting a child and causing bodily harm after the person has
engaged in a pattern or practice either of;

a) assaulting a child which has resulted in bodily harm that is greater transient
phystcal pain or minor temporary marks or

b) causing the child physical pain or agony that is equivalent to that produced by
torture;
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Because the two alternatives for engaging in a pattern or practice, 1) assaulting a child resulting
in physical pain, and 2) causing a child physical pain equivalent to torture, are grouped together
as sub-points under the Pattern and Practice prong of the statute, a jury is often instructed on both
means by which a pattern can be proven, whether the prosecutor is alleging both means or not.

As a result, jurors are often left wondering if they have to find that a defendant both assaulted a
child resulting in physical pain and caused pain tantamount to torture, in order to find that
defendant guilty of engaging in a pattern or practice of abuse. If the two were separated out into
a third and fourth means of committing the crime of AOC 1, the charging of a defendant and the
providing of legal instructions to the jury would be easier to understand. '

Potential Reform #3:

Amend the statute so that it applies to 16 and 17 year old offenders in order to
eliminate a gap in the application of the statute that does not exist in other serious
violent offenses committed against children.

Under RCW 9A.36.120 a person must be 18 years or older in order to commit the crime of
Assault of a Child in the First Degree. The crime can only be committed against a child who is
under 13 years of age. In circumstances where the crime of Assault in the First Degree can be
proven, i.e. an intent to inflict "great bodily harm" and then the infliction of it, the 18 years or

older requirement is not relevant because an offender aged 16 or 17 could be charged simply
with Assault in the First Degree.

However, in situations where a 16 or 17 year old parent of a young child, or sibling, family
friend, babysitter or stranger of a young child, intentionally assaults the young child and
recklessly inflicts "great bodily harm," prosecutors are left without an appropriate criminal
charge to pursue. Despite the fact that a 16 to 17 year old may have caused permanent brain
damage to a child under 13, caused the loss of a body part or created permanent impairment of
an organ, the 16 to 17 year old does not face the serious consequences of an Assault of a Child in
the First Degree charge, a "serious violent offense” as defined under the SRA. This gap in the
statute is troubling when considering the number of now 16 to 17 year old parents of young
children that our found in our community, let alone the number of 16 to 17 year old babysitters

and caregivers who are give the responsibility to watch over and provide a standard of care to
young children. '

One might challenge the need to increase the possibility of punishment on this class of offenders,
however, one need only look at the wide array of serious violent offenses that 16 to 17 years olds
already face under Washington State criminal law, including the crimes of Rape of a Child in the
First Degree, Rape in the First Degree, Robbery in the First Degree, Kidnapping in the First
Degree, Drive by Shooting, Manslaughter in the First Degree and Assault in the First Degree, to
see that 16 to 17 year olds are required to abide by our most serious criminal offenses or face
adult consequences. Not only do 16 to 17 year olds face criminal charges for committing these
"serious violent offenses," but 16 to 17 year olds face these charges in Adult Court under the
State's Automatic Adult Jurisdiction Statute, RCW 13.04.030(e)(v).
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Meanwhile, because of the "18 years or older" requirement found in the AOC 1 statute, a 16 to
17 year old not only avoids prosecution as an adult for inflicting such extremely serious injury,
they instead face only an Assault 2 charge, carrying with it a sentence of a mere 15 to 36 weeks
in Juvenile Detention. 16 to 17 year old offenders face this charge because it is the most serious
assault available that closely mirrors the conduct prohibited under the Assault of a Child First
Degree Statute. Because the level of injury required is significantly less under the Assault 2
statute, the perpetrator faces a potential sentence that is approximately 20 times less than the
punishment facing an 18 year old that commits the same crime.

The Assault of a Child in the First Degree statute should be amended to remove this gap in
jurisdiction. The statute should apply to individuals who are 16 years or older who are accused

of intentionally assaulting children under the age of 13 and recklessly inflicting great bodily
harm upon them.

- Potential Reform #4:

Amend the Sentencing Reform Act (SRA) to move the crime of Assault of @ Child in
the First Degree from a Level XII offense for purposes of calculating a defendant's
Offender Score to a Level XIII offense.

Under the Sentencing Reform Act, the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree is currently
classified as a Level XII offense for purposes of scoring. This results in a Standard Range
Sentence of 93 to 123 months or 7.75 years to 10,25 years in prison for an offender with no prior
felony convictions. The crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree is currently classified
with the crimes of Assault in the First Degree, Rape in the First Degree and Rape of a Child in
the First Degree,

The Legislature could consider moving the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree to a
Level XIII offense, which would raise the Standard Sentence Range for a first time felon
offender to 123 months to 164 months or 10.25 years to 13.6 years. Raising the crime to Level
XIIT would put it on par with the crimes of Malicious Explosion Second Degree and Malicious
Placement of Explosives First Degree.

Raising the level of the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree can easily be justified
when looking at the long lasting effects of the infliction of "great bodily harm" on a child victim,
In the case of Eryk Woodruff, the young victim will have life long physical injuries including
brain damage. Although the other crimes ranked as a Level XII are extremely serious, the
potential for long lasting and even life long physical impairments is not as great as when a child
under the age of 13 has "great bodily harm" inflicted upon them. The potential for permanent
brain damage, impairment of limbs and other organs is only increased by the youth of the victim.
An increase from Level XII to Level XIII can certainly be justified based upon the impact of
committing the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree.

Potential Reform #5:

Amend RCW 9.94A.703 to require a condition of community custody that prohibits a
person convicted of the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree, or any felony
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offense committed against a child under 13 years of age or younger, from having any
unsupervised contact with minors.

House Bill 2279 made significant progress in creating a strong, new community custody
condition for offenders convicted of Assault of a Child in the First Degree. The legislation
amended RCW 9.94A.703 to prohibit an offender convicted of AOC 1 from serving in any paid
- or volunteer capacity where they have control or supervision of minors under the age of 13.

Should the Legislature wish to go farther, it could codify a required condition of community
custody for offenders convicted of the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree to have no
contact with children under the age of 13 at all, unless they are in the presence of another aduit
who is knowledgeable of the offender's conviction. Such a condition could even be modified to
include any and all children under the age of 16 (16 being the age of consent for crimes of a
sexual nature) or 18 (18 being the age where a person is presumed to move from a juvenile to an
adult for purposes of the criminal justice system). The cendition could also be mandated as a
community custody condition under RCW 9.94A.703 for any and all defendants convicted of a
felony crime committed against a child under the age of 13, 15, or 18 depending upon how
restrictive the Commission and Legislature wants to be. Such a condition would read as follows:

If the offender was convicted of a felony offense and is being sentenced under the
Sentencing Reform Act for a crime against a child under the age of 13, the offender is to
have no contact with an unsupervised child or children under the age of 13 unless either
an adult who is knowledgeable of the offender's conviction is present or with prior
approval from the offender's community corrections officer.

Such a condition is commonly asked for by prosecutors across the state as a discretionary
condition for crimes committed by adults against children. The condition helps protect against
putting the convicted offender in a setting with a child where re-offense is possible.

Other Considerations:

In adopting House Bill 2279, the State Legislature asked the Commission to review several other
aspects of the Assault of a Child in the First Degree statute, including exploring changes to the
bases for exceptional sentences above and below the standard range, judicial discretion in
sentencing, earned early release, advisory sentencing guidelines and modifying the 5 year
mandatory minimum term for AOC 1 set out in RCW 9,94A,540. After conducting a review of

these provisions as they relate to the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree, the
following observations can be made.

* Mitigating & Aggravating Circumstances Justifying Departure from a Standard Range
Sentence

Under RCW 9.94A.535 the Legislature has articulated several mitigating and aggravating
circumstances which justify a sentencing court departing from the SRA's standard sentencing
range. Several of these circumstances are particularly relevant to instances in which a defendant
has been convicted of the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree.



! Prosecuting Attorney
King County
Page 7

Several of the mitigating circumstances listed in RCW 9.94A.535 provide defendants convicted

of AOC 1 with the ability to argue for a reduced sentence. Some of the most relevant mitigating
circumstances include:

-The impairment of the defendant's capacity to appreciate the wrongfulness of his
conduct or to conform that conduct to the requirements of the law.

-The defendant committed the crime under duress, coercion or threat insufficient to
Justify a complete defense,

-The defendant him or herself was a victim of abuse.

These circumstances allow a defendant to argue for an exceptional sentence downwards from the
standard range on a variety of bases when convicted of AOC 1. The mitigating circumstances

component of RCW 9.94A.535 does not need to be amended as several avenues for departure
already exist.

The same conclusion can reasonably be reached when examining the aggravating circumstances
applicable to the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree. Several aggravating
circumstances contained in RCW 9.94A.535 are relevant to the AOC 1 statute including;

-the defendant knew or should have known that the victim was particularly vulnerable or
incapable of resistance.

-the defendant's actions resulted in deliberate cruelty towards the victim.
-the defendant used his position of trust to facilitate the commission of the crime.
-the offense was committed during the course of or related to offenses of a sexual nature

Each of these aggravating circumstances allow the prosecution to seek an exceptional sentence in
the commission of the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree. The most commonly used
circumstance is the "particular vulnerability" of victim or the "victim's incapability to defend
themselves," This circumstance allows the prosecution to seek exceptional sentences in cases
were the child is an infant or toddler, making them particularly vulnerable or incapable of

_ defending themselves. As a result, amendments to RCW 9.94A.535 are not needed at this time.

o Judicial Discretion in Sentencing

The Legislature also asked the Commission to consider allowing more judicial discretion in
sentencing. As noted above, Assault of a Child in the First Degree is ranked as a level XII
offense, carrying with it a 93 to 123 months standard range sentence for a person with an Offener
Score of Zero, with a maximum of life in prison and a mandatory minimum sentence of 5 years
under RCW 9.94A.540. A sentencing judge can impose sentences ranging from 5 years up to
life assuming the appropriate mitigating or aggravating circumstances exist. When viewing the
potential sentences for AOC 1 in light of the desired goal of having determinate sentencing under
the SRA, and the possible exceptions to that sentencing certainly allowed in fact based
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mitigating and aggravating circumstances, a judge has wide discretion in imposing a sentence on
a defendant guilty of AOC 1. As a result, further discretion is not warranted.

¢ Eamed Early Release for AOC 1

Under the SRA, a defendant convicted of Assault of a Child in the First Degree is eligible to earn
only up to 10% of his total sentence off for good behavior while serving his prison sentence.

10% good time is the least amount of time that can be earned for a criminal conviction under the
SRA. Tt is important to note the value of earned early release in terms of maintaining discipline
in prison. The potential of eaming early release helps corrections officers maintain order in
otherwise volatile prison settings. As a result, it would be prudent to keep the crime of Assault of
a Child of the First Degree eligible for 10% earned early release.

»  Advisory Sentencing Guidelines

The Legislature also suggested that the Commission should examine allowing advisory
sentencing guidelines for judges, similar to the federal sentencing structure, which allows federal
Judges to depart from guidelines in a much easier fashion. The Commission could certainly
consider allowing easier departures for the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree.
However, allowing such departures would run counter to the determinate nature and purpose of
the SRA to bring truth and consistency to criminal sentences in Washington State. Again, AOC 1
is ranked as a level XII offense, one of the most serious offense rankings called for under the
SRA. Judges can depart downward if mitigating circumstances exist. Otherwise, the seriousness
of a person's actions warranting conviction under the AOC 1 statute should carry serious
consequences. As a result, advisory guidelines are not needed at this time.

* Adjusting the Mandatory Minimum Sentence for Assault of a Child in the First Degree

Under RCW 9.94A.540, an offender faces a five year mandatory minimum sentence for the
crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree if the offender used force likely to result in death
or intended to kill the victim. This limits the application of the mandatory minimum to only one
or two alternative means of committing the crime itself. The Commission could consider
expanding the 5 year mandatory minimum sentence to all alternative means of committing
Assault of a Child in the First Degree. However, the standard range sentence for the crime is 93
to 123 months on an Offender Score of Zero. A judge is bound to the standard range sentence
unless an exceptional sentence downward is possible. Otherwise the mandatory minimum
sentence does not come into play. Expanding the 5 year mandatory minimum to every alternative
means of committing the crime would result in some certainty and consistency in sentencing but

the minimum is hardly ever justified under the SRA unless already contemplated mitigating
circumstances are met.

¢ Fiscal Impact of Proposed Changes

The number of Assault of a Child in the First Degree charges filed is relatively small. However,
incarceration periods are long. Under the proposed reforms, an increase in the ranking of the
Offense Level would lead to increased costs to the Department of Corrections. These costs
would however be the most impactful out of all the proposals listed above, The modification of

8
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the elements of the crime and including 16 to 17 year olds would also add to the number of AOC
1 charges filed statewide, however the impact would be minimal when viewed in the context of
the rarity of this charge being brought. When compared to the injuries inflicted upon the child
victims of the crime, it is a price worth paying.

Conclusion

The above recommendations and analysis constitute a complete review of the Assault of a Child
in the First Degree as mandated by the Washington State Legislature. The crime of Assault of a
Child in the First Degree is an extremely serious criminal charge, requiring much thought to be
put into any reform of the statute. The harm that is inflicted upon children under the age of 13
by offenders who commit the crime of Assault of a Child in the First Degree must always be
remembered when considering changes to the statute.




, PROPOSAL
INCREASE SERTIOUSNESS LEVEL OF ASSAULT OF A CHILD 1
325 - Sentencmg Guidelines Commlssmn
October 8, 2009

SUMMARY | |
This proposal increases the seriousness level of Assault of a Child 1 from Level 12 to Level 13

'EXPENDITURES -

Assumptlons -

‘The adult jail and prison bed unpacts for this bill were calculated under the followmg assumptions:

* Sentences are based on Sentencing Guidelines Commission Fiscal Year 2008 (updated May 2009)
adult felony sentencing data, and assume no changes in crime rates, filings, plea agreement practices
or sentencing volumes, efc. (i.e., there will be an 1dent1cal number of sentences each year).

Sentences are distributed evenly by month.

Sentences are discounted by the ratio of sentences to jail or prison admissions.

Length of stay in jail is calculated using a figure for average eamed release, based on a survey of
local jails by the Sentencing Guidelines Commission, the Office of Community Development and
‘the Washington State Association of Counties.

* Bed impacts are-calculated with a phase-in factor for Other Violent Child Sex offenses

* The prospective length of stay in prison factors in the amount of time served in jail prior to
transferring to the Department of Corrections based on the average time served for specific offenses
as reported by DOC.

All sentence alternatives, exceptional sentences and life/death sentences were excluded.

¢ Assumes 50% ERT has sunset as of July 1, 2010

¢  DOC has provided estimates on the percentage of offenders by h1erarchy who have remained at a
low risk designation and received 50% ERT. In order to bring these offenders to 33% ERT, 17% of
their sentence (less enhancements and credit for time served) was added back to their total
confinement (17% is the difference between 50% and 33% ERT). The rest of the sentences were
assumed to have received 33% ERT already.

Impact on prison and jail beds

In FY08, there were 6 sentences for Assault of a Child 1. One sentence was an exceptional sentence and
was therefore excluded from the analysis, leaving 5 sentences. Two of the sentences each had two
Assault of a Child 1 offenses running consecutively. Four of the 5 sentences had an offender score of 0,

» The average current sentence length is 163.4 mos
» The average current length of stay is 137.6 mos

» The average proposed sentence length is 215.5 mos
» The average proposed length of stay is 181.4 mos

Keri-Anne Jetzer (360) 407-1470
Washington State Sentencing Guidetines Commission @sge.wa gov




Average Monthly Population Jail and Prison Impacts
Proposal - Increase Seriousness Level of Assault of a Child 1
Sentencing Guidelines Commission '

October 8, 2009
Fiscal Year

i |FY11]FY12] FY13{FY14]|FY15|FY 16| FY17|FY18]FY19|FY20
Jail AMP 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0]
Prison AMP (DOSA) 0 0 0 0 0 ol o 0 0 0|
Prison AMP (Non-DQSA) 0, 6 0 0 0 0 0 o o 1
{Prison AMP (Total) 0 0 0 { 0 0 0 0 0 1

Fiscal Year )
- |FY21|FY22|FY23|FY24|FY25§FY26|FY27|FY28|FY29|FY30
Jail AMP ' 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Prison AMP (DOSA) 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Prison AMP (Non-DOSA) | 2 2 3 4 5 6 7 9 100 11
Prison AMP (Total) B R R D 1 I U I ¥
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