Criminal & Civil

Washington State Statute of Limitations

Crime

Victim Age

Criminal Prosecution

Timeframe
(RCW 9A.04.080)

Civil Litigation
Timeframe
(RCW 4.16.340)

Rape 1°' Degree
Rape 2" Degree

OVER 14 Years of Age

10 Years

Rape 1° Degree
Rape 2" Degree

UNDER 14 Years of Age

Up to 28" Birthday

Rape 1° Degree
Rape 2" Degree

OVER 14 Years of Age
(Not reported to LE w/ in 1 Year)

3 Years

Statute of Limitations

o
® | Rape 1° Degree UNDER 14 Years of Age 3 Years + 18" Birthday / 7
< Rape ond Degree (Not reported to LE w/ in 1 Year) Years Commission of Crime
o
< : :
@ | Rape of Child 1% Degree LE?DSe ;';:’:;\':‘21% thﬁsr‘z lgzr,)ﬂxge Up to 28" Birthday
2 3 Years
@)
@ ; ; st LESS THAN 12 Years of Age th o
Child Molestation 1°° Degree (Defendant 36 months older) Up to 28™ Birthday
Rape of Child 2" Degree AT LEAST 12, LESS THAN 14 -
Child Molestation 2" Degree Years of Age Up to 28" Birthday
(Defendant 36 months older)
Rape of Child 3" Degree AT LEAST 14, LESS THAN 16 .
Child Molestation 3" Degree Years of Age Up to 28" Birthday
(Defendant 48 months older)
Indecent Liberties Up to 28" Birthday
Incest UNDER 18 Years of Age Up to 28" Birthday
Washington State Sex Offender Policy Board June 2012




