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Fact Sheet: Relief from Sex or  
Kidnapping Offender 
Registration 
 

 

How long are sex or kidnapping offenders required to register for? 

Offenders convicted in Washington state of a Class A felony, or who have been 
convicted of two or more sex or kidnapping offenses or required by federal, tribal or 
out-of-state authorities must register indefinitely. 

Offenders convicted in Washington state of a Class B felony who do not have one or 
more prior convictions for a sex or kidnapping offense, or no disqualifying offense, 
shall register for 15 years after the last date of release from confinement or judgment 
and sentence if no further confinement. 

Offenders convicted in Washington state of a Class C felony, a violation of RCW 
9.68A.090 or 9A.44.096, or an attempt, solicitation, or conspiracy to commit a Class C 
felony who do not have one or more prior convictions for a sex or kidnapping 
offense, shall register for 10 years after the last date of release from confinement or 
judgment and sentence if no further confinement. 

Who may petition for relief of sex or kidnapping registration requirements? 

Offenders who were adjudicated or convicted as juveniles, who have not been 
determined to be a sexually violent predator, regardless of whether the conviction was 
in Washington state. 

Offenders who were convicted as adults in Washington state who have spent ten 
consecutive years in the community and have not been determined to be a sexually 
violent predator or convicted of a disqualifying offense. 

Offenders who are required to register for a federal, tribal, or out-of-state 
conviction who have spent fifteen consecutive years in the community without 
being convicted of a disqualifying offense. 

What is a disqualifying offense? 

RCW 9A.44.128(3) defines disqualifying offenses as a conviction for: any offense that 
is a felony; a sex offense as defined in chapter 9A.44 RCW; a crime against children or 
persons as defined in RCW 43.43.830(7) and 9.94A.411(2)(a); an offense with a 

SOPB 
 Washington Sex Offender Policy Board 

 



 

Fact Sheet: Relief From Registration 
Page 2 of 3 
 

domestic violence designation as provided in RCW 10.99.020; permitting the 
commercial sexual abuse of a minor as defined in RCW 9.68A.103; or any violation of 
chapter 9A.88 RCW.   

Who may not petition for relief from sex or kidnapping registration 
requirements?   

Adults or juveniles who have been determined to be a sexually violent predator and 
adults who have been convicted of a Class A sex or kidnapping offense that was 
committed with forcible compulsion on or after June 8, 2000 may not petition for 
relief from registration requirements.  Although these offenders may not be relieved 
from registration requirements, they may petition to be exempted from community 
notification requirements after fifteen years from the last date of release from 
confinement or judgment and sentence if they have not been convicted of a 
disqualifying offense during that time.  

Which court does the offender petition and who does the offender serve notice 
to? 

The offender shall submit the petition to the court which required he or she to 
register.  If the offender was convicted out-of-state, or in a federal or foreign country, 
the offender shall petition the superior court in the county where the person is 
registered.  The prosecuting attorney of the county shall be named and served as a 
respondent in the petition. 

When may the court relieve a petitioner of the duty to register? 

An adult offender may be relieved from the duty to register only if they show by clear 
and convincing evidence that they are sufficiently rehabilitated* to warrant removal 
from the registry. 

A juvenile offender may be relieved from the duty to register under the following 
circumstances: 

Type of offense Time since offense Other requirements 
Class A Sex or Kidnapping 
Offense committed when the 
juvenile was 15 or older 

At least 60 months have passed 
since adjudication and term of 
confinement; with no 
additional sex offense or 
kidnapping convictions 

Person has not been 
adjudicated or convicted of 
Failure to Register within 60 
months of filing petition; 
offender has been sufficiently 
rehabilitated*. 

All other Sex or Kidnapping 
Offenses 

At least 24 months have passed 
since adjudication and term of 

Person has not been 
adjudicated or convicted of 
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confinement, with no 
additional sex offense or 
kidnapping convictions 

Failure to Register within 24 
months of filing petition; 
offender has been sufficiently 
rehabilitated*. 

 

What factors does the court consider when determining whether an offender is 
sufficiently rehabilitated*? 

• The nature of the registrable offense committed including the number of 
victims and the length of the offense history; 

• Any subsequent criminal history; 
• Petitioner’s compliance with supervision requirements; 
• Length of time since the charged incident(s) occurred; 
• Input from the community corrections officers, law enforcement, or treatment 

providers;  
• Participation in sex offender treatment;  
• Participation in other treatment and rehabilitative programs; 
• Offender’s stability in employment and housing; 
• Offender’s community and personal support system; 
• Risk assessment’s or evaluations prepared by a qualified professional; 
• Updated polygraph examinations; 
• Input from the victim; 
• Any other factors the court may consider relevant. 

What is the burden of proof to prevail on a petition for relief from registration? 

The court may relieve an adult petitioner of the duty to register only if he or she 
shows by clear and convincing evidence that they are sufficiently rehabilitated to 
warrant removal from the central registry.  The court may relieve a juvenile petitioner 
if he or she shows by a preponderance of the evidence that they are sufficiently 
rehabilitated to warrant removal from the central registry. 

What kind of forms are available for use to petition the court? 

Pattern forms for Relief from Offender Registration Requirements are located at 
www.courts.wa.gov under “Forms”. 

 

http://www.courts.wa.gov/

