## OFFICE OF FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT

*Insurance Building, PO Box 43113* □ *Olympia, Washington 98504-3113* □ *(360) 902-0555* 

September 29, 2023

**TO:** Ana Mari Cauce, President, University of Washington

Kirk Schulz, President, Washington State University

Shari McMahan, President, Eastern Washington University Jim Wohlpart, President, Central Washington University John Carmichael, President, The Evergreen State College Sabah Randhawa, President, Western Washington University

Paul Francis, Executive Director, State Board for Community and Technical Colleges

**FROM:** David Schumacher

Director

SUBJECT: COLLEGE AFFORDABILITY PLAN TUITION GROWTH RATE FOR 2024-25

**ACADEMIC YEAR** 

RCW 28B.15.067(2) directs the Office of Financial Management to calculate the maximum increase in tuition operating fees for resident undergraduates at public institutions of higher education. These fees may increase by no more than the average annual percentage growth rate in the median hourly wage for Washington as the wage is determined by the federal Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) based on the previous 14 years.

Pursuant to Chapter 9, Laws of 2023 (Senate Bill 5079), OFM must provide the average annual percentage growth rate by October 1 of each year for the following academic year. Based on the May 2022 data released by BLS, the percentage growth rate for the median hourly wage for Washington for the previous 14 years is 3.0 percent. Therefore, the tuition operating fee for the public community and technical colleges and public four-year institutions may increase by no more than 3.0 percent in the 2024-25 academic year.

Median Hourly Wage – Average Annual Growth		
Year	Median Hourly Wage	Annual Growth
2022	\$27.08	11.7%
2021	\$24.25	-2.3%
2020	\$24.81	12.5%
2019	\$22.06	1.7%
2018	\$21.69	1.4%
2017	\$21.38	0.7%
2016	\$21.24	1.3%
2015	\$20.97	6.1%
2014	\$19.76	0.5%
2013	\$19.67	1.0%
2012	\$19.47	0.9%
2011	\$19.30	2.9%
2010	\$18.76	2.1%
2009	\$18.37	2.5%
2008	\$17.92	
Average Annual Growth		3.0%

cc: Higher Education Agency Budget Officers
Ruben Flores, Executive Director, Council of Presidents
Susan Howson, Staff Coordinator, Senate Ways and Means Committee
Dave Johnson, Staff Coordinator, House Appropriations Committee
Michele Alishahi, Fiscal Analyst, Senate Ways and Means Committee
Kate Henry, Fiscal Analyst, House Appropriations Committee
Nona Snell, Budget Director, OFM
Shea Hamilton, Senior Budget Advisor, OFM
Ramona Nabors, Budget Advisor, OFM