
WASHINGTON STATE 
OVERTIME EXEMPTION 

CHANGES – 2023



MINIMUM WAGE ACT 
REQUIREMENTS 

• State law requires workers:

• Be paid a minimum wage;
• Receive overtime for time worked over 40 hours per work week
• Receive paid sick leave
• Protection from retaliation or discrimination for exercising their rights under RCW 

49.46.100.

• There are workers who are “exempt” from these protections.



WHO IS EXEMPT FROM OVERTIME PAY 
REQUIREMENTS?

• Minimum Wage Act provides an exemption from the state 
minimum wage and overtime pay requirements for employees 
who are:

• Executive, Administrative or Professional, certain computer 
professionals

Note: Being “exempt from civil service” does not equate to being 
“exempt from overtime rules.” The MWA applies to all employees.



QUALIFYING FOR THE EXEMPTION

• To qualify for the exemption the employee must satisfy two tests:

• Salary basis test

• Job Duties test (consider only duties actually performed)

• Executive, Administrative & Professional, Computer Professional each have 
their own duties analysis to meet the exemption. WAC 296-128-510, -.520, .-.530

• Teachers, Doctors DO NOT need to meet salary threshold requirements.



CHANGES TO OVERTIME RULES- L&I
The Department of Labor & Industries adopted a phase in schedule which 
went into effective January 1, 2021, that increases the weekly salary 
standard required to exempt executive, administrative or professional 
employees from Washington State’s overtime pay requirements. This new 
schedule uses a multiplier times the minimum wage to update the minimum 
weekly standard salary level.

Although the threshold multiplier will not increase after 2028, the actual salary 
threshold may continue to increase as the minimum wage increases each 
year.

L&I also updated its EAP duties tests to more closely align with the federal 
standards.



WA STATE’S PHASED IN SALARY 
THRESHOLD

Start Multiplier MinWage Weekly Annual

7/1/2020 1.25 $13.50 $675 $35,100

1/1/2021 1.75 $13.69 $958.30 $49,831

1/1/2022 1.75 $14.49 $1,014.30 $52,743.60

1/1/2023 2 $15.74 $1,259.20 $65,478.40



WA STATE’S PHASED IN SALARY THRESHOLD FOR 
HOURLY COMPUTER PROFESSIONALS

Start Multiplier MinWage Hourly Wage

7/1/2020 2.75 $13.50 $37.13

1/1/2021 3.5 $13.69 $47.92

1/1/2022 3.5 $ 14.49 $50.72

1/1/2023 3.5 $ 15.74 $55.09



APPLYING THE SALARY THRESHOLD
• What counts?

• Salary threshold is applied to total compensation rather than base pay.
• Reevaluate application of exemption if circumstances change impacting total 

compensation.

• State law: bonuses, commissions and benefits are not salaries and therefore do not 
count towards the salary thresholds. Food, lodging or other accommodations those 
costs do not count towards the minimum salary threshold requirements. WAC 296-128-
505(3)

• Federal Law: The U.S. Department of Labor now allows employers to use 
nondiscretionary bonuses and) paid at least annually to satisfy up to 10% of the federal 
salary level. incentive payments (including commissions)

• NOTE: Federal rules have different requirements for what payments can count towards the 
federal salary threshold.



HANDLING STATE AND FEDERAL 
DIFFERENCES

There are similarities and some differences:
• State Job duties test are closely aligned with Federal job duties tests

• Federal updated its highly compensated employee salary threshold to 
$107,432/yr. The State of Washington does not have a highly 
compensated employee exemption.

• Federal law allows the use of nondiscretionary bonuses to calculate 
salary threshold. State DOES NOT count nondiscretionary bonuses, 
incentive payments and commissions payments toward salary 
threshold. For example: relocation pay.



HANDLING STATE AND FEDERAL 
DIFFERENCES

When there are differences follow the standard more favorable to the employee:

* FLSA salary standard is $684 per week or $35,568 per year for the executive, administrative and 
professional exemption to apply. L&I’s salary threshold is more favorable to the worker and must be 
applied.

Employers need to follow the state salary standards that go into effect January 1, 
each year.

Effective January 1, 2023, the Salary threshold will be $65,478.40.



GUIDANCE MOVING FORWARD

• Action needed:
• Review job descriptions to ensure positions continue to meet duties 

test.

• Clearly identify exempt duties on the position description form.

• Apply the three tests previously discussed.

• Re-review the position if circumstances change mid-year.



GUIDANCE MOVING FORWARD
You will need to determine how to apply the exemption.

You may have to convert current exempt salaried employees to Overtime Eligible and pay 
overtime because they do not meet the EAP tests. This will require you to track hours, pay 
overtime for work over 40 and provide protections under MWA.

If you have employees that move to OT eligible you will need to start positive timekeeping for 
those individuals.

• If they meet salary threshold requirements AND duties test. You may maintain their overtime 
exempt status.

This will continue to be a big undertaking moving forward.



GUIDANCE MOVING FORWARD 
(SPLIT PAY RANGES)

At this time, you should be reviewing current positions based
on the new 2023 state salary standard, applying the new
salary test which goes into effect January 1, 2023, and
preparing to make adjustments, if needed to each position
within a split range and switch employees overtime eligibility
where appropriate.

The split range will depend on which CBA the employee is
represented by and which salary schedule.



RESOURCES

• L&I Changes to Overtime Rules Q&A
• Overtime Rules Resources
• L&I_EAPTrainingModule
• Exempt_NonExempt-Fact Sheet
• RCW 49.46.010(3)(c)
• WAC 296-128

• Questions, please contact:
• your assigned Labor & Personnel AAG
• State Human Resources Class & Comp Email at 

classandcomp@ofm.wa.gov

https://lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/wages/overtime/changes-to-overtime-rules-q-a
https://lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/wages/overtime/overtime-rules-resources
https://apps-public.lni.wa.gov/favicon.ico
https://lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/_docs/exempt-vs-nonexempt-fact-sheet.pdf
mailto:classandcomp@ofm.wa.gov
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